http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/issue/feed Journal of Peritoneum (and other serosal surfaces) 2018-12-17T04:25:22+01:00 Paola Granata paola.granata@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Journal of Peritoneum (<em>and other serosal surfaces</em>)</strong> (JoPER) is a quarterly open access, peer-reviewed online journal that covers all aspects of clinical and basic research related to either healthy, either diseased peritoneum (and other serosal surfaces, like pericardium and pleura) and its allied subjects. Peritoneum is a word derived from Greek (peritonaion) via Latin (peritonaeum), that results from the merging of peri- "around" (lat. peri-) + teinein "to stretch" (lat. tenet), meaning thus “stretched around” or “stretched over”. Although peritoneum is present in some invertebrates, such as annelids, typically is the serous membrane that forms the internal covering of the abdominal cavity or coelom in amniotes, wrapping most of the intra-abdominal (or coelomic) organs. Although the peritoneum is composed only of a layer of mesothelium supported by a thin stratum of connective tissue, it is involved in many intrabdominal disorders and is an important way of treatment (like, for example, intraperitoneal chemotherapy and peritoneal dialysis). Thus peritoneum spans a wide range of disciplines and interests, including either surgical and medical specialties, but even anatomy, embryology, histology, physiology and basic sciences. The same can be told for other serosal surfaces of human body, like pericardium and pleura. As such JoPER aims to provide a platform for surgeons and physicians to publish their researches and rapidly exchange ideas and findings with the common topic of the peritoneum (and the other serosal surfaces). Areas of interest include, but are not limited to: oncology, inflammatory diseases and adhesions, septic diseases, gynecological diseases and endometriosis. The online presence of JoPER, as well as it's open access policy ensures that the articles published in the journal are highly visible and reach a wide audience, whilst immediate publication on acceptance ensures all findings are disseminated as quickly as possible.</p> http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/104 The effect of hyperthermia (42°C) on the anti-tumoral effect of bromelain, N-acetyl cysteine, chemotherapeutic agents and their combinations - an in vitro evaluation 2018-12-17T04:25:19+01:00 Vanessa H.L. Wan vanessa713wan@gmail.com Krishna Pillai panthera6444@yahoo.com.au Samina Badar Samina.badar@unsw.edu.au Javed Akhter Javed.Akhter@health.nsw.gov.au David L Morris David.Morris@unsw.edu.au <p>Bromelain, N-acetyl cysteine and their combinations show cytotoxicity at 37°C. Similarly, their combinations with common chemotherapeutic agents (gemcetabine, Mitomycin C, oxaliplatin and 5-FU) show enhanced cytotoxicity. Since, hyperthermia (42°C) inhibits cellular proliferation, we set out to determine if it would further enhance the effect of these agents. Tumour cells (pancreatic and colorectal) were grown in a 96 well plate and treated to various agents and their combinations at 37° and 42°C. The survival of cells at 72 hours was evaluated with sulfhordamine assay. Colony formation assay was performed to evaluate development of resistance to these agents and finally PAS staining was carried out to determine the effect of bromelain, Nacetylcysteine (NAC), oxaliplatin and their combinations on mucin secretion in ASPC-1 (pancreatic) cancer cells. Hyperthermia (42°C) enhanced cytotoxicity of certain agents or their combinations in some of the cell lines. It also showed the absence or a reduction of effect, with certain agents. Hyperthermia reduced colony formation in CFPAC cells and with agents (bromelain + NAC, gemcitabine, NAC + gemcitabine, Bromelain + NAC + Gemcitabine). A similar effect with 5FU, 5FU + NAC and 5FU + bromelain was observed. Hyperthermia reduced mucin secretion in ASPC-1 cells, with bromelain and its combinations with NAC and oxaliplatin. NAC as a single agent increased mucin with hyperthermia. The effect of hyperthermia on cytotoxicity of bromelain, NAC and their combinations with chemotherapeutic agents varied with agents, their combinations and cell types, showing an increase, null effect or a decrease. However, hyperthermia reduced colony formation and mucin secretion.</p> 2018-12-14T16:58:00+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/98 Abdominal pain and fever in a patient with familial periodic fever: an extremely rare mutation of the TNF receptor superfamily member 1A gene 2018-12-17T04:25:20+01:00 Michele Marini marini.michele2@gmail.com Emanuele Rausa emanuele.rausa@unimi.it Federico Coccolini federico.coccolini@gmail.com Federica Bianco federica.bianco@unimi.it Cecilia Merli cecime@fastwebnet.it Salvatore Greco michele.marini2@gmail.com Antonio Luca Brucato albrucato@asst-hpg23.it Lorena Mosca lorena.mosca@ospedaleniguarda.it Alessandra Surace alessandrasurace@hotmail.it Sandro Sironi sandrosironi@libero.it Luca Campanati lcampanati@asst-pg23.it Luca Ansaloni lansaloni@hpg23.it <p>Periodic fever syndromes (PFSs) are a clinically inhomogeneous group of diseases based on peculiar genetic mutations. PFSs have to be suspected in young patients presenting with recurrent attacks of abdominal pain, skin rashes, arthritis, myalgia and fever as soon as more prevalent diseases have been excluded. An unconsidered hypothesis of PFSs may lead in delaying the diagnosis and unnecessary medical and surgical treatments. In this article, we described the case of a young man presented to our attention due to recurrent abdominal pain and fever caused by TNF-receptor-associated periodic syndrome (TRAPS) sustained by the <em>TNFRSF1A</em> gene mutation.</p> 2018-08-07T10:31:23+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/97 Gastric cancer indocyanine green lymph node navigation surgery: systematic review 2018-12-17T04:25:21+01:00 Beatrice Molteni beatrice.molteni@hotmail.com Paola Porsio p.porsio@hotmail.com Sarah Molfino sarahmolfino@gmail.com Marie Sophie Alfano mariesophie.alfano@gmail.com Sara Benedicenti katutopia.l@gmail.com Fausto Catena faustocatena@gmail.com Luca Ansaloni lansaloni@asst-pg23.it Nazario Portolani nazario.portolani@unibs.it Gianluca Baiocchi gianluca.baiocchi@unibs.it <p>Sentinel lymph node (LN) biopsy is a common practice to determinate if a lymphadenectomy is needed in various malignancies. Recent studies have investigated the possibilities to extend sentinel LN biopsy in gastric cancer. Indocyanine green (ICG) is a diagnostic reagent recently introduce in sentinel LN biopsy field. This review aims to determinate the feasibility to used ICG to detect sentinel LN in gastric cancer.</p> 2018-08-07T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/96 Different ways to manage indocyanine green fluorescence to different purposes in liver surgery: A systematic review 2018-12-17T04:25:22+01:00 Sarah Molfino sarahmolfino@gmail.com Marie Sophie Alfano mariesophie.alfano@gmail.com Sara Benedicenti katutopia.l@gmail.com Beatrice Molteni beatrice.molteni@hotmail.com Michele Peroni peroni.michele@hotmail.it Mattia Baresi mattiabaresi@gmail.com Antonio Tarasconi atarasconi@gmail.com Fausto Catena faustocatena@gmail.com Luigi Boni luigi.boni@uninsubria.it Nazario Portolani nazario.portolani@unibs.it Gian Luca Baiocchi gianluca.baiocchi@unibs.it <p>Fluorescent properties of indocyanine green (ICG) for hepatic tumor identification and features have been recently studied. The aim is to review the published data on the use of ICG enhanced fluorescence surgery during liver resection. A systematic search of literature was performed using MEDLINE, EMBASE, Cochrane and Web of Science libraries. For all eligible studies, the following data were extracted: study design, number of cases, management of indocyanine green (dose, time and method of administration), type of surgery, outcome variables, false positive and accuracy value, if reported. For statistical analysis, it was considered significant P&lt;0.05, when published. 19 articles were fully analyzed and data were extracted. A total of 718 cases were globally analyzed as study group. No side effects of ICG were reported in any articles. 12 prospective observational, 1 randomized and 2 case-control studies were found. Three case reports and one experimental on animal model were also included. Detection of superficial lesions, segmental staining, biliary anatomy investigation (biliary leakage detection, biliary tree anatomy) were the main clinical application of fluorescence liver guided surgery. The overall quality of the data currently available is limited but the role of fluorescence guided liver surgery seems promising.</p> 2018-08-06T17:24:21+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##