http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/issue/feed Journal of Peritoneum (and other serosal surfaces) 2018-08-21T14:23:09+02:00 Paola Granata paola.granata@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Journal of Peritoneum (<em>and other serosal surfaces</em>)</strong> (JoPER) is a quarterly open access, peer-reviewed online journal that covers all aspects of clinical and basic research related to either healthy, either diseased peritoneum (and other serosal surfaces, like pericardium and pleura) and its allied subjects. Peritoneum is a word derived from Greek (peritonaion) via Latin (peritonaeum), that results from the merging of peri- "around" (lat. peri-) + teinein "to stretch" (lat. tenet), meaning thus “stretched around” or “stretched over”. Although peritoneum is present in some invertebrates, such as annelids, typically is the serous membrane that forms the internal covering of the abdominal cavity or coelom in amniotes, wrapping most of the intra-abdominal (or coelomic) organs. Although the peritoneum is composed only of a layer of mesothelium supported by a thin stratum of connective tissue, it is involved in many intrabdominal disorders and is an important way of treatment (like, for example, intraperitoneal chemotherapy and peritoneal dialysis). Thus peritoneum spans a wide range of disciplines and interests, including either surgical and medical specialties, but even anatomy, embryology, histology, physiology and basic sciences. The same can be told for other serosal surfaces of human body, like pericardium and pleura. As such JoPER aims to provide a platform for surgeons and physicians to publish their researches and rapidly exchange ideas and findings with the common topic of the peritoneum (and the other serosal surfaces). Areas of interest include, but are not limited to: oncology, inflammatory diseases and adhesions, septic diseases, gynecological diseases and endometriosis. The online presence of JoPER, as well as it's open access policy ensures that the articles published in the journal are highly visible and reach a wide audience, whilst immediate publication on acceptance ensures all findings are disseminated as quickly as possible.</p> http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/98 Abdominal pain and fever in a patient with Familial Periodic Fever: an extremely rare mutation of the TNF receptor superfamily member 1A gene 2018-08-21T14:23:06+02:00 Michele Marini marini.michele2@gmail.com Emanuele Rausa emanuele.rausa@unimi.it Federico Coccolini federico.coccolini@gmail.com Federica Bianco federica.bianco@unimi.it Cecilia Merli cecime@fastwebnet.it S. Greco michele.marini2@gmail.com Antonio Luca Brucato albrucato@asst-hpg23.it Lorena Mosca lorena.mosca@ospedaleniguarda.it Alessandra Surace alessandrasurace@hotmail.it Sandro Sironi sandrosironi@libero.it Luca Campanati lcampanati@asst-pg23.it Luca Ansaloni lansaloni@hpg23.it <p>Periodic fever syndromes (PFS) are a clinically inhomogeneous group of diseases based on peculiar genetic mutations. PFS have to be suspected in young patients presenting with recurrent attacks of abdominal pain, skin rashes, arthritis, myalgia and fever as soon as more prevalent diseases have been excluded. An unconsidered hypothesis of PFS may lead in delaying the diagnosis and unnecessary medical and surgical treatments..</p> <p>In this article, we described the case of a young man presented to our attention due to recurrent abdominal pain and fever caused by TNF-receptor-associated periodic syndrome &nbsp;(TRAPS) sustained by the <em>TNFRSF1A</em> gene mutation.</p> 2018-08-07T10:31:23+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/97 Gastric cancer indocyanine green navigation surgery: systematic review 2018-08-21T14:23:07+02:00 Beatrice Molteni beatrice.molteni@hotmail.com Paola Porsio p.porsio@hotmail.com Sarah Molfino sarahmolfino@gmail.com Marie Sophie Alfano mariesophie.alfano@gmail.com Sara Benedicenti katutopia.l@gmail.com Fausto Catena faustocatena@gmail.com Luca Ansaloni lansaloni@asst-pg23.it Nazario Portolani nazario.portolani@unibs.it Gianluca Baiocchi gianluca.baiocchi@unibs.it <p>Sentinel lymph node (LN) biopsy is a common practice to determinate if a lymphadenectomy is needed in various malignancies. Recent studies have investigate the possibilities to extend sentinel LN biopsy in gastric cancer. Indocyanine green (ICG) is a diagnostic reagent recently introduce in sentinel LN biopsy field. This review aims to determinate the feasibility to used ICG to detect sentinel LN in gastric cancer.</p> 2018-08-07T09:57:32+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/96 Different ways to manage Indocyanine green fluorescence to different purposes in liver surgery. A systematic review. 2018-08-21T14:23:08+02:00 Sarah Molfino sarahmolfino@gmail.com Marie Sophie Alfano mariesophie.alfano@gmail.com Sara Benedicenti katutopia.l@gmail.com Beatrice Molteni beatrice.molteni@hotmail.com Michele Peroni peroni.michele@hotmail.it Mattia Baresi mattiabaresi@gmail.com Antonio Tarasconi atarasconi@gmail.com Fausto Catena faustocatena@gmail.com Luigi Boni luigi.boni@uninsubria.it Nazario Portolani nazario.portolani@unibs.it Gian Luca Baiocchi gianluca.baiocchi@unibs.it <p>Fluorescent properties of indocyanine green (ICG) for hepatic tumor identification and features have been recently studied. The aim is to review the published data on the use of ICG enhanced fluorescence surgery during liver resection. A systematic search of literature was performed using MEDLINE, EMBASE, Cochrane and Web- of-Science libraries. For all eligible studies, the following data were extracted: study design, number of cases, management of indocyanine green (dose, time and method of administration), type of surgery, outcome variables, false positive and accuracy value, if reported. For statistical analysis, it was considered significant P &lt; 0.05, when published. 19 articles were fully analyzed and data were extracted. A total of 718 cases were globally analyzed as study group. No side effects of ICG were reported in any articles. 12 prospective observational, 1 randomized and 2 case-control studies were found. Three case reports and one experimental on animal model were also included. Detection of superficial lesions, segmental staining, biliary anatomy investigation (biliary leakage detection, biliary tree anatomy) were the main clinical application of fluorescence liver guided surgery. The overall quality of the data currently available is limited but the role of fluorescence guided liver surgery seems promising.</p> 2018-08-06T17:24:21+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## http://jperitoneum.org/index.php/joper/article/view/78 Mucinous neoplasm of the appendix: management according to reviewed histologic spectral aspects 2018-08-21T14:23:09+02:00 Carlos Augusto Gomes caxiaogomes@gmail.com Cleber Soares Junior cleberdoc@gmail.com Federico Coccolini federico.coccolini@gmail.com Giulia Montori giulia.montori@gmail.com Rafaela Clara Resende da Silva rafaelaclarars@gmail.com Vinicius Alvarez Souza do Amaral viniciusalvarezsouza@yahoo.com.br Paula Varginha Salgado paulax_pvs@hotmail.com Priscila Viviani da Trindade de Ávila priavilamed@gmail.com Felipe Couto Gomes felipe.couto.gomes@gmail.com Camila Couto Gomes camilacoutog@yahoo.com.br <p>Of the diseases affecting the cecal appendix, mucinous neoplasms, although rare, are the most common epithelial tumor. They are often asymptomatic and diagnosed by anatomopathological exams of sections, collected during appendectomies due to acute appendicitis. These tumors have the potential to become malignant, and their early surgical handling are the most important prognostic factor. So, clinical, image, operatory and histologic spectral aspects should always take into account. The present study reports a case of mucinous neoplasm of the appendix that manifested with intestinal partial obstruction and suggests the need for a comprehensive and uniform classification, which could address the best disease first approach. The information was obtained through a patient records review, photographic documentation of the diagnostic tests and histologic study of operative specimen. In addition, the manuscript opens a discussion about the approach of choice of this complex neoplasia, since great variability persists in clinical and pathological records, due to variations in classifications and definitions. This variability in disease nomenclature may significantly impact the treatment and prognosis.</p> 2018-08-06T15:44:16+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##